My “D” Photos


This was certainly a difficult week.  Not many objects to shoot that begin with the letter “D”.  It’s a very good thing that there is a Donkey Sanctuary here in Aruba.   It is quit interesting, the story of how the Donkey came to the island some 500 years ago.   Once the automobile was introduced, then the donkey was no longer needed.  I’m not going to go any further as you can go to their web site and read all about them yourselves.

The funniest part of my day was when I decided to go to Dunkin Donuts and take photos of the donuts.  I explained to the salesperson, (as I have, when I need to take a photo, somewhere I might need permission) that I am a photographer on the island and my assignment this week is to take photos of objects that begin with…….this week it’s the letter “D”.  She, the salesperson, stated “she didn’t know and would have to ask the manager”.  Ok then if that is what she needed to do, but the problem was he wasn’t there.  Well, after suggesting that she call him, cause I NEEDED THE PHOTOS, she agreed.  I spoke to him going through my spiel again, but he asked me who I worked for…….never happened before…..think fast Katie…….”Well I”m from Chicago and am on the island for a photo assignment.  “Oh, he said, for sure go right ahead”.  The amusing part was,  when I was setting up my camera,   the girls asked me if I would wait for a few minutes while they changed the dirty paper under the donuts making everything crisp and clean.  I wonder who the manager thought I was working for.

Until Next Tuesday when the “E”S” come alive

Happy Shooting

OH WHAT A DAY

THIS IS THE LIFE

WHAT A CUTIE

JUST A BABY

ANYTHING DOWN HERE TO EAT

I LOVE YOU

YUM YUM

MORE YUM YUM

VERY COLORFUL

GO PINK

UNTIL NEXT TUESDAY HAPPY SHOOTING

6 Responses to “My “D” Photos”

  1. Dogs and Donkeys. Good Description of your attempts to shoot Donuts, too. Karol

  2. I love the pictures!
    There are a few dogs and donkeys on Bonaire too.
    But I was astonished at the amount of feral cats the first time we were there. Last time we were there, we only saw a couple cats, but did see a dead donkey. Poor thing, was way off in the puckerbrush where we were hiking. Actually not far from the big cliff where the garbage trucks back up and dump their stuff into the sea.

    The more I see of your great photos, the more tempted I am to hit Travelocity and book a vacation.
    Our dog is improving and hopefully wont have to have the knee/ACL surgery, so a trip might just happen!
    Keep up the great photos!
    Jane

  3. Fabulous shots!

    I love the 2 donkeys and I can’t wait to show these to Amara – she will love them and I know it will mean a trip to the donut shop. Grandma tries to stay away from the donuts but when she is here we make all kinds of exceptions!

    I can’t wait to see what you do with the “E” photos.

    ~Grandma Kc

  4. The doughnut story is pretty funny! Great pictures, I love the donkeys 😉

    Anita

  5. What a cool blog — especially enjoyed your donkey photos since I have 4 mini’s myself. Aruba looks like a beautiful place and I look forward to spending more time on your blog.

    • Thank you Deb.
      Actually a few years back I volunteered at the donkey sanctuary. It amazed me how friendly the donkeys are. They would walk right up to you and follow you around. Each one has it’s own personality. It was a fun time.

Leave a Reply

